1.3 Massive Bug. Logout and chunks unload causes massive burst of lag.

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by Kane, Mar 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Kane

So this is a ongoing issue. Bigger servers seam to notice the impact more but you can see it on smaller servers as well.

What happens is when you logout the chunks unloading same to stall the main thread a bit and cause everything to lag. If your digging you will really see the effects.

Now some people might not experience this bug or think it's not there but it is. The ideal conditions for this bug is to have a few of your players spread out not in the same chunks at all. Then ask 2-3 of them to logout while you are digging. You will really experience this.

Now for some unknown reason since I'm not a programmer it also fluctuates and I'm unsure why this is. Sometimes there will be no lag and other times it will be like 5 seconds of lag.

The bigger the server is and the more spread out you are the worse it gets. Now if your on a large server with most people near each other then no chunks are unloading and you hardly feel the effects since it's not causing any.

I have tried this with several versions of 1.3 Bukkit now I have not had enough to produce it in Vanilla but Kainzo said to me this is only a Bukkit bug but it's not a 100% confirmed.

Please let us know if you experience this on your server and please report as much info as possible!

2. Offline

Euthyphro

I have this same problem on my server, we have quite a lot of players logged in at Age of Mining. Using craftbukkit version 497. It seems when users log out, it causes massive lag on the server.

3. Offline

kenjamen