Custom player count message without ProtocolLib

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by FroznMine, Aug 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

FroznMine

Hi community,

I got a 'small' question about packets etc. ;)

I know that there are libraries like ProtocolLib or PacketLib, which allow you to modify the player count message in the server list, which you see, when you hover the current online players.

Is there anyway to do this without any external libraries? I'm not a Java beginner, kind of intermediate, so I think I will understand the code, when there is some.

I think it has something todo with the net.minecraft.server.ServerPing class, but I don't know how to send a packet or anything else, because I don't got a CraftPlayer which I could send something. Is that right or totally wrong?

I don't got the time to read through the source code of one of this libraries. If someone can reply with the specific code I would be VERY HAPPY :D

Thanks for your help

FroznMine

GrandmaJam likes this.
  2. Offline

xTrollxDudex

3. Offline

FroznMine

I searched it but I didn't find anything like this. Because of that I asked. :)

Anyway: Thanks for your answer. I'm going to test if it works for me.

4. Offline

FroznMine

I finally tested the code you were showing me, but it produces an error:
    It looks like that has been replaced with something else, cause "t" is just an Integer. I think that's not correct. :)

So here is my solution of this, for anybody else who needs it:

1. I found out, that you have to replace
    Code:java
    1. t = MinecraftServer.class.getDeclaredField("t");

with
    1. t = MinecraftServer.class.getDeclaredField("u");

Of course you can rename the field to "u" or anything else.

2. You also have to change the world from which you getHandle() twice.