First server setup - Random questions

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by Wyl, Apr 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Wyl

I beta tested Minecraft YEARS ago and played it off and on but never multiplayer. So I am pretty familiar with the game and interface just not this community of server have has been created. So please forgive me as I am still learning the lingo

My Nephew has been bothering me for a while to put up a server for him and his friends. But I am having trouble figuring out what is going on with all different builds, plugin, etc.

I was hoping to create a semi-vanilla sever for myself and then something for his friends. I personally love creating gold courses and castles. But then I did like the occasional spelunking for treasure. And then I was hoping to setup some sort of area for my nephew.

So my questions.. in random order

- The server I am setting up will be 15gb, and I have a decent 15/15mbs internet connection. I assume that is good for 20 people?

- I setup a bukkit server (beta build) with no plugin, and then loaded a fresh copy of Minecraft on my Mac. When I tried to log into my server, it gave me an error that my minecraft version was too high for the server. What version is everyone playing? What build of Bukkit is most popular o?

- Can I section off the map / server? Can I make a PVP area? A couple of peaceful golf courses so no one can rip them down? And made a regular adventure area?

- I have been reading random posts, and see that people are getting banned from server for flying. Why is flying so negative to people?

- Can I import other peoples stuff so I don't have to build a spawn point town?

I am sure I'll have many other questions, and I hope this isn't too much for my first post... Any and all help is welcome.

2. Offline

ZanderMan9

Answers in order: