Mob spawner specify drop - need help

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Pedesmix, Jul 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Pedesmix

I'm really new at this plugin coding and found my first problem that i really can't solve...

I'm trying to specify what a zombie mob spawners, should drop, when you kill the zombies its spawning.

I only know how to make the default drop, for all zombies which also encludes natural spawned zombies, but i need to specify it only to spawners.

My code so far:
    Code:
        @EventHandler
        public void onEntityZ(EntityDeathEvent event) {
            if(event.getEntityType() == EntityType.ZOMBIE){
                event.getDrops().clear();
                ItemStack stack = new ItemStack(Material.GOLDEN_APPLE);
                event.getDrops().add(stack);

}
        }

I know it something with SpawnReason, but not sure how i should add that in?

2. Offline

Zettelkasten

Pedesmix Bukkit does not "remember" the reason why an entity spawned, so you will have to do that. First, you want to listen to CreatureSpawnEvent and find out the SpawnReason why the entity spawned. If it is from a spawner, you want to save that entity to a list. Now when an entity dies, you check if the entity is from your list and then modify the drops.
    Saving could be done multiple ways:
    • Using a simple ArrayList
    • Using Metadata
    The problem: None of them are consistent, so your data will be removed when the server is reloaded. You will need to store the entities in a database, config file or what so ever. Using Entity.getUniqueId() you can get an ID which identifies that entity. But you might really want to consider just using Metadata and not to care if data is lost on server reload.

Here is a forum post that might interest you: https://forums.bukkit.org/threads/check-if-entity-was-spawned-from-mob-spawner.114451/

3. Offline

DevilMental