[Tutorial] How to create a scoreboard countdown!

Discussion in 'Resources' started by CodenameTitan, Sep 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

CodenameTitan

Hey Guys!
    My name is Jayden also known as CodenameTitan. I am new to the Bukkit Forum but not new to the API and Java. Here is my way of making a scoreboard timer. Please do NOT hate:

In your main class:
    Code:java
    1. public Objective o; //Creates a objective called o
    2. public Scoreboard timerBoard = null; //Creates a scoreboard called timerBoard(You will see what thats used for later)
    3. public Objective timerObj = null; // Same as above but it creates a objective called timerObj
    5. @Override
    6. public void onEnable() {
    7. //SCOREBOARD
    9. /*
    10. * TIMER SCOREBOARD/FIRST SCOREBOARD
    11. */
    13. Scoreboard board = Bukkit.getServer().getScoreboardManager().getNewScoreboard();
    15. o = board.registerNewObjective("timer", "dummy"); //Registering the objective needed for the timer
    16. o.setDisplayName(ChatColor.RED + "TCGN" + ChatColor.GRAY + " | " + ChatColor.GOLD + "Walls"); // Setting the title for the scoreboard. This would look like: TCGN | Walls
    17. o.setDisplaySlot(DisplaySlot.SIDEBAR); //Telling the scoreboard where to display when we tell it to display
    19. this.timerBoard = board; //Setting timerBoard equal to board.
    20. this.timerObj = o; //Setting timerObj equal to o. This makes it so we can access it by typing plugin.timerObj

What we have done is onEnable we have created the scoreboard called board and added the objective o as well as setting the scoreboard title and setting the scoreboard display once we need to use it!

Next we need to create a class to hold the timer/countdown. There might be a few bugs in this code but I have tested it and it works fine!