Recommended Plugins

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by Helmi74, Oct 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Helmi74

Hi,

i'm rather new to everything (well except servers, that's my job :)) so i wonder if there's a list of most used or highly recommended plugins? Just playin' around with some friends using the new and great DEV version of bukkit 1.4.2 and trying some plugins but it's way hard to find some good ones using the listing at dev.bukkit.org.

Is there anything like most downloaded or something? We're primarly interested in adding functionality not so much cheating existing stuff.

Thanks for helping and thanks for all your great work, developers.

2. Offline

DarthSalamon

I suggest trying "Essentials", it's a great plugin that offers the basic commands (/msg, /warp, /tp, /home) and a whole lot more.
    "GroupManager" (part of Essentials), allows for ranks (such as "admin"), and have certain prefixes, colors and the good stuff.
    Also "DynamicBan" is a good plugin for managing (Ip/temp)-bans, mutes, ect.
    "WorldEdit" allows you to easily change terrain, quickly make walls, floors, copying and pasting, rotating, saving, and-so-forth.
    Optional to Worldedit is "WorldGuard", which allows for protection against fires, explosions, players griefing (using regions) to name a few.
    "MCmmo" is a very nice RPG-like system that allows you to rank up in abilities (eg: double drops), whilst mining, fishing, agility, and much more (really recommend this one)
    Finally "My worlds" is a small (but useful) plugin for managing multiple worlds.

3. Offline

Jacksta21

Hmm Instead of essentials I would get Admincmd, it's less resource heavy and does basically the same thing, I would also not use groupmanager as I've has some bad times with it, use PermissionsBukkit or PermissionsEx to handle permissions. The rest of the plugin you mentioned are awesome.

4. Offline

DarthSalamon