Trying to get rid of particle effects

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Jamesthatguy, May 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Jamesthatguy

Hello, i am trying to get rid of particle effects (little bubbles) of potions and I am a bit new to packets. I found this code from a while back but it does not seem to work and it gives me an error.

private Set<Integer> test = new HashSet<Integer>();
    private void addPotionEffect(Player p, PotionEffect pe) {
    test.add(pe.getType().getId());
    Packet41MobEffect pm = new Packet41MobEffect();
    pm.a = p.getEntityId();
    pm.b = (byte)pe.getType().getId();
    pm.c = (byte)pe.getAmplifier();
    pm.d = (short)pe.getDuration();
    ((CraftPlayer)p).getHandle().netServerHandler.sendPacket(pm);
    pm = null;
    }

Error: netServerHandler cannot be resolved or is not a field

Could anyone tell me exactly what is wrong?

2. Offline

sirrus86

Yeah, netServerHandler was used in older versions of Minecraft. Replace it with playerConnection and you should be all set.

3. Offline

Jamesthatguy

hmm that's strange, Its now warning me this"The method addPotionEffect(Player, PotionEffect) from the type mine is never used locally" and i am getting an error on start up. http://pastie.org/7908366

4. Offline

sirrus86

If your aim is to remove ALL potion particle effects (not just the ones you manually set) then there's a bit more to it.

Your error is because you're building against a CraftBukkit build for MC 1.5.1, but you're running the plugin on a server for MC 1.5.2. Just update your build path.

5. Offline

devilquak

Jamesthatguy

The method warning means you're not even using the method -- you're importing someone else's code, and then never even using it.

6. Offline

Jamesthatguy